HTTPS on AVM Fritz!

Short Story:

To allow SSL access via MyFritz, remove MyFritz administration via SSL, and re-add SLL via the MyFritz permissions.

Long Story:

I decided to install OwnCloud on my Raspberry Pi, and use it as a Dropbox type service for backups, because, hey, Dropbox really doesn’t need to be involved in my personal directory. Installing Owncloud was very easy, thanks to all of the work posted on the Interwebs so far. Owncloud is really great! The only hiccough I had was getting the external USB hard drive recognized from the /var/www directory, and that was just a matter of using a symlink and changing the permissions to www-data.

After renaming the server to something other than “pi,” was able to access Owncloud via the web interface inside my home network. Score! But to be truly useful, this needs to be accessible from anywhere, which means setting up a Dynamic DNS type service. Fortunately, the manufacturer of my Fritz!Box DSL Modem/WiFi/Swiss Army Knife, AVM,  provides exactly this service: MyFritz. Wonderful. I set it up to access the webserver from the outside network, and that worked like a charm!

But to be truly useful, and the whole point of not using DropBox is because of privacy, SSL should be set up for Owncloud. This is also very easy with Owncloud. (Have I mentioned how really great Owncloud is yet?)  From my internal network, this also worked perfectly.

MyFritz works be creating an account for the AVM Fritz!Box, assigning it a unique ID (like “poiqeppqiw.myfritz.net”) and using that as the “Dynamic DNS” name. Additionally you can access the internal web page driven administration site for the router via SSL. So far, so good. So I followed the same instructions to allow https (Port 443) access from the outside network, but that didn’t work perfectly. I was continually re-routed to admin page for my router, even though I had set it up to route port 443 to the owncloud directory.

I  turned off the external access, but that still didn’t work. It wasn’t until I saw that the MyFritz permissions (“Freigabe”) were just a shortcut into the allowed ports list, that I saw the conflict. I deleted and re-entered the HTTPS “Freigabe” and, now Owncloud is accessible from the outside via SSL.

Have I mentioned how great Owncloud is yet?

This entry was posted in Privacy, Tutorial and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

